Additional Book Info

Date Added: 2015-03-16


Edition: 1912, Chicago, A. C. McClurg Sc Co.

Rating: [Rate this book]


The stories are divided into two-halves, "Mrs. Spring Fragrance" for adults, and "Tales of Chinese Children" for children. Set in Seattle and San Francisco, they reflect the struggles and joys in the daily lives of Chinese families in North America. Particularly poignant are the stories delineating the cultural conflicts of Eurasians and recent immigrants. In the ironically titled "In the Land of the Free", Eaton shows the suffering inflicted by discriminatory immigration laws.

Table of Contents

Reader Reviews

Be the first to review this book!